X-Nico

5 unusual facts about Gare de Montdidier


Gare de Montdidier

Coal trains from the mining region travelled to Creil and the large marshalling yards in the North Paris region via Estrées-St-Denis and Longueil-Ste-Marie, joining the line to Amiens at Estrées.

The line was formerly two-track but was reduced to a single track in the 1980s; Montdidier, Moreuil and Estrées-Saint-Denis are the only remaining intermediate points where trains can pass each other.

The station is located at kilometre point 100.155 on the partly abandoned single-track metre-gauge line between Saint-Just-en-Chaussée and Douai and at kilometre point 115.358 on the also partly abandoned line between Ormoy-Villers and Boves.

The station formerly also allowed connections to the metre-gauge lines in the Somme operated by the Société générale des chemins de fer économiques from Albert via Rosières and from Noyon via Roye-sur-Matz (Oise region).

Gare de Moreuil

Together with Montdidier and Estrées-Saint-Denis, it is one of three points at which trains can pass each other along the line, which was reduced to single-track in the 1980s.


Gare de Castel

The station was situated at km 8.325 of the Amiens-Montdidier-Creil (via Longueil Ste Marie) line opened in 1853 by Compagnie du Nord and the Amiens-Compiègne line via Estrées-Saint-Denis.


see also